Brought to you by


CTE Awards & Honorees

NASDCTEc Star of Education Award

With its Star of Education Award, NASDCTEc recognizes stellar performance in former State Directors whose extraordinary dedication and achievement have contributed to excellence in CTE through business, learning or instruction. Their unwavering commitment to continually innovate and improve education for students of all ages through quality CTE programs is exemplary.

In 2011, NASDCTEc presented its Star of Education Award to three outstanding friends of CTE for their extraordinary leadership and contributions:

  • Dr. June St. Clair Atkinson

    Dr. June St. Clair Atkinson

    North Carolina State Superintendent of Public Instruction
    A former CTE State Director for 12 years, Dr. Atkinson has long been a leader in the CTE arena. She is among the pioneers to implement Career Clusters and programs of study statewide.

  • Dr. John Foster

    Dr. John Foster

    President/CEO of National Occupational Competency Testing Institute
    A former CTE State Director in Pennsylvania and NASDCTEc Board Member, Dr. Foster has served as a strong advocate for research-based resources – assessments and instructional tools…

  • Dr. Michael Rush

    Dr. Michael Rush

    Executive Director of the Idaho State Board of Education
    Dr. Rush authored NASDCTEc’s vision document, Career Technical Education: An Essential Component of the Total Education System. The document set precedent for how NASDCTEc designed its objectives and strategies.

Click here to learn more about this year’s Star of Education Honorees and their outstanding contributions to CTE.