Brought to you by


Congressional Contacts

The Congressional leadership, committees and subcommittees listed here are responsible for CTE authorizing legislation through the Carl D. Perkins Career and Technical Education Improvement Act of 2006—and for appropriating federal funds to support and sustain quality CTE programs nationwide. When action calls, we rally the CTE community to contact representatives in their states and legislators on key committees. It is critical that you express your support for CTE. The list of key individuals in Congress are listed below.

CTE Congressional Caucus members

Congressional Leadership


  • President of the Senate

    Joseph Biden, U.S. Vice President

  • President Pro Tempore

    Senator Patrick Leahy (D-VT)

  • Senate Majority Leader

    Senator Harry Reid (D-NV)

  • Senate Majority Whip

    Senator Richard J. Durbin (D-IL)

  • Senate Minority Leader

    Senator Mitch McConnell (R-KY)

  • Senate Minority Whip

    Senator John Cornyn (R-TX)


  • House Speaker

    Speaker John Boehner (R-OH-8)

  • House Majority Leader

    Representative Eric Cantor (R-VA-7)

  • House Majority Whip

    Representative Kevin McCarthy (R-CA-22)

  • House Minority Leader

    Representative Nancy Pelosi (D-CA-8)

  • House Minority Whip

    Representative Steny Hoyer (D-MD-5)

Key Committees

Other Web Resources

Carl D. Perkins Career and Technical Education Improvement Act of 2006 (text)
U.S. Department of Education, Office of Vocational and Adult Education
Teacher Quality (Title II Technical Assistance)
U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration
Thomas (a Library of Congress site focused on federal legislation)
How a Bill Becomes a Law (Senate example)